Internet
How to
Newspapers
Twitter
SEO advice
Categories: How to, Twitter.

Twitter retweet: how the new RT functionality looks

November 6, 2009 17 Comments

Update - bugs: If you have been put on the new system, beware retweeting long tweets. Most people are still on the old system - what they will see is the tweet you retweet with 'RT ' at the front.

I just retweeted a 140-character tweet - as adding 'RT ' at the front made it too long, Twitter sliced the end off my tweet - which was the URL that was being tweeted.

Not only that, people didn't see the retweet in tweetdeck, tweed or echofon. That seems to suggest only people using the web interface can see things that are RTed using the new method at the moment.

What I saw

This is what I see - RT logo at front and URL at the end.

What I saw - URL there

What I saw - URL there

What people on the old system saw

This is what people on the web interface saw: a RT at the front - and no URL (in fact, if you click the three tiny dots you can then see the full message with the URL).

What people on the old RT system see: no URL

What people on the old RT system see: no URL

Thanks to Sarah Goodwin and Mark Edmondson for testing (I recommend following both).

Original post

Despite having to wait ages for lists and Google wave, I seem to have Twitter RTs early.

If you're invited to join the RT beta, you see this.

Twitter retweet: the message you see if you're in the beta

Twitter retweet: the message you see if you're in the beta

And here's a new-style RT close up.

Twitter retweet: a new-style RT close up

Twitter retweet: a new-style RT close up

Personally, I haven't seen a live one yet from someone else ... And I don't really like the sound of them as I like to comment on RTs. But maybe that's just me.

When you do a RT

This is what happens if you want to retweet using the new functionality.

Hover over a message and you see a retweet link, bottom right:

Retweet: a retweet option appears

Retweet: a retweet option appears

Then a confirmation appears if you click it:

Retweet: confirmation message

Retweet: confirmation message

You then see the message in your stream, showing you retweeted it (at the bottom):

Retweet: you can see you sent it

Retweet: you can see you sent it

And you can undo it if you want (bottom right):

Retweet: undo

Retweet: undo

You also get a retweets menu item in the right hand column, which shows you a screen showing what you've retweeted, who has retweeted you etc. There's not much in mine as of yet!

Twitter RT lists: you can see who has RTed you, who you have RTed

Twitter RT lists: you can see who has RTed you, who you have RTed

Update: And finally, if you go to someone's profile, you can choose to turn off seeing their RTs:

How to block a user's RTs if you find them annoying ... (no offence Paul!)

How to block a user's RTs if you find them annoying ... (no offence Paul!)

When you see what someone else has retweeted, you now get a little message (I presume the first time only):

What you see

What you see

I think that really is it now!

You might also like
  1. Is the new retweet the end of angry Twitter mobs?
  2. Twitter trials new new-tweet feature
  3. Is Google using signals from Twitter for its rankings?
  4. How to get a link from the BBC to your Twitter URL
  5. 4.01pm – the best time to tweet if you want to be noticed

Share this post

Follow me on Facebook or Twitter

17 Comments »

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.